Diver Training

Diver Training with Xarifa SAC and BSAC

Diver training from beginner to experienced, The British Sub Aqua Club (BSAC) and it’s club branches provides a full training programme that enables diver training to progress through a framework of qualifications at their own pace. Once you earn your diver training qualifications, they stay with you and are not dependent on staying a club member. This means you can continue to dive at home and abroad when you like, contrary to myth that you must remain a member to keep a qualification.

There are five internationally-recognised BSAC diver training grades, from the entry level Ocean Diver through to our highest grade, First Class Diver.

BSAC Diver Training Grades

BSAC started diver training in the early 1950s. During this time the Diver Training Programme has been regularly updated to keep pace with developments in equipment and diving knowledge. The Diver Training Programme is designed to build confidence and self-reliance, whilst keeping safety uppermost.

Diving skills are taught progressively so that each new experience is built upon step by step. Following basic diver training in the safety of a swimming pool, students soon do their first open water dives. This progression continues to Sports Diver and beyond, where open water skills and techniques are developed and experience gained.

All diver training courses are delivered through BSAC clubs, by qualified instructors over a number of weekly sessions and weekend open water training. You can also complete your training over a shorter period of time through a BSAC centre.

With BSAC diver training, the choice is yours.

Ocean Diver

This is the first of the diver training grades and similar to PADI Open Water Diver. If you’ve always wanted to learn how to scuba dive, this course is for you.

The BSAC Ocean Diver starts in the safety of a swimming pool or sheltered before moving to open water in a controlled, safe manner. Confidence will be gained under the guidance of your instructor. Maximum depth – 20m.

To enroll on the BSAC Ocean Diver Course you must be 12 years or older.
A basic level of comfort in the water is important and you will have to demonstrate that you can swim 200m in swimwear.

What you’ll learn

The BSAC Ocean Diver Training course has three main stages:

  1. Lessons and theory tests on the basic principles of scuba diving
  2. Five confined water dives to learn the basics in the water (usually in a swimming pool)
  3. Five open water dives to further develop your scuba diving skills

The fun bit will hopefully be from start to finish! Learning to dive is a life changing experience for many people. Breathing underwater for the first time is something you will never forget and the experience of learning with others is great fun. Your instructor will look after you every step of the way.

Sports Diver Training

Sports Divers can embark on the first stage of the route of instruction and can progress the depth of dives to 35m.

To enrol on the BSAC Sports Diver Course you must be 12 years or older.
You must have already successfully completed a BSAC Ocean Diver course (or qualifying certification from another recognised training agency).

You will love the variety in this course. To ensure you experience a range of conditions, your instructor will include five types of dive from the following for you to experience: shore dive, nitrox dive, dive using a shot line, low visibility dive, drift dive, small boat dive, large boat dive, wall dive or a dive in protective clothing.

Dive Leader Training

Dive Leader training covers responsibilities and safety of leading other divers and progress the depth of dives to 50m. Dive Leaders can also progress to Open Water Instructor.

You will learn dive leadership skills through 12 classroom lessons, seven open water dives, two dry practical lessons and 20 dives in a range of conditions. The BSAC Dive Leader course covers the role of the BSAC Dive Leader, Dive Planning and Management, Delayed Surface Marker Buoy (DSMB) use (midwater deployment), dive leading demonstrations, basic life support with Oxygen administration and practical management of diving incidents, casualty assessment, dive planning, shot recovery by simple lift and review of rescue skills.

Advanced Diver Training

Divers gain experience in planning dives at different sites and different circumstances. Additional experience will be gained in using small boats, chart work. navigation and many other related skills. Advanced Divers are eligible to progress to Advanced Instructor.

To enrol on the BSAC Advanced Course you must be 14 years or older. You must have already successfully completed a BSAC Dive Leader course (or qualifying certification from another recognised training agency).

You will learn dive planning and managment skills through four classroom lessons, two open water lessons, two dry practical lessons and 20 dives in a range of conditions, since qualifying as a Dive Leader.

First Class Diver Training

BSAC’s highest diver training grade which requires a higher than average level of theoretical knowledge, organisational and personal diving skills.

First Class Diver is a very challenging award to achieve. Since 1953 when the BSAC first formed, only 932* people have qualified as First Class Divers. (as of 19 October 2011).